Climate-friendly Almenland Nature Park

95 climate and energy model regions (KEM) in 819 municipalities in Austria implement climate protection projects - the Almenland Nature Park is one of them! 

The Austrian climate and energy model regions have the following goal: clean energy production from wind, water and bioenergy from the region. The model region managers and partners from the regions jointly implement projects in the following areas:

  • Renewable energy
  • Reduction of energy consumption
  • Sustainable building
  • Mobility
  • Agriculture
  • Awareness raising

"Climate and Energy Model Regions" is a programme of the Climate and Energy Fund. The programme co-finances regional climate protection projects and regional model region management. Being a climate and energy model region offers access to a broad network as well as exclusive training, support and funding.

KEM - lead project "Quick BIO-NET

presents analysis tool for heating networks

Climate and energy model region managers receive new advisory tool

In the lead project "Quick BIO-NET", a quick check tool for the initial analysis of local heating networks was created. This tool enables simple benchmarking and determination of the status quo of local or district heating networks. By entering a few parameters of the heating plant, the various possibilities are analysed as to how new renewable energy technologies - e.g. solar thermal, photovoltaic, buffer storage, combined heat and power or even waste heat - from industry and commerce can be integrated. The results of the tool form the basis for decisions on the further development and optimisation of the heating plant. In the project, case studies from the participating climate and energy model regions were calculated and in some cases already documented in implementation.

With the quick check tool, the climate and energy model region managers receive a tool that provides initial answers to questions such as the economic efficiency of the overall system, winter and/or summer operation with solar integration, buffer storage, PV, CHP, etc. or grid expansion. This forms the basis for a fundamental decision and further detailed planning!

The project team - consisting of AEE INTEC, the Innovation Centre Weiz, the KEM Energiekultur Kulmland, the KEM Holzwelt Murau and the KEM Naturpark Almenland - was funded by the Climate and Energy Fund.

Test the app & save 150€!

Proper heating with biomass boilers needs to be learned, because clean combustion is essential for high efficiency and minimising exhaust gases. In the last decades, a lot of research and development work has been invested in the combustion technology of biomass heating systems, but the behaviour of the users also holds great potential.

This was demonstrated by the "CleanAir by biomass" project (Clean Air = Reine Luft), which was carried out by the province of Styria from 2016 to 2019. In the follow-up project CleanAir II, the aim is now to go one step further and sustainably strengthen the awareness of the population with regard to clean air through the use of domestic biomass. The project tries to achieve this goal by means of mobile infrastructure, awareness raising, citizen science and the involvement of local and regional stakeholders as well as educational institutions.

As part of the CleanAir II project, the smartphone application "FireMonitor" was developed. This allows research to be brought into people's living rooms. The FireMonitor app is used to document the heating behaviour of users.  At the end of the project, participants receive feedback based on their recordings on how they can optimise their heating behaviour to produce fewer emissions.

The app is still in the test phase and therefore relies on a particularly large number of app testers. Do you have a log boiler in your boiler room, a tiled or Swedish cooker or a table cooker and would like to test the app? Then contact Martin Auer (KEM Manger Naturpark Almenland) and download the app under the following links (Android and iOS, attention not available in the Store!). The three most intensive app testers will be rewarded with € 150.00 vouchers! Further information about the project can be found here! If you have any questions, please contact Martin Auer.

App for Android

App for iOS

Renewable energy communities

Become part of the energy transition

Climate change, renewable energies and energy transition are central topics of our time. In our future, sustainable energy system, you as citizens also play a decisive role:

In the future, everyone can contribute to the energy transition in the form of energy communities! 

To this end, the international project CLUE is currently taking place, in which Energie Steiermark and the Almenland Nature Park together represent a demo region. We would like to ask you for a few minutes of your time to take part in a survey. In doing so, you will help us to better adapt energy communities to the needs of citizens. You can find more details about the project at www.project-clue.eu

To the survey

E-Car of the KEM-Region

The "climate school children" of the 6 primary schools Arzberg bei Passail, Breitenau/H., Fladnitz/T., Gasen, Neudorf b.P. and Passail drew their personal, environmentally friendly future. Many of these drawings can now be found on the e-car of the KEM region Climate-friendly Nature Park Almenland. This is intended to transport the children's messages to the Almenland Nature Park region and further afield. Many thanks to the children for this great work!

"Green" family energy park on the Teichalm

Energie Steiermark launches cooperation project with the climate-friendly Almenland Nature Park!

At an altitude of 1200 metres above sea level, the new "green" energy park for families has now been opened on the Teichalm. Together with the Almenland, Energie Steiermark is pursuing the goal of familiarising children and families with the most important facts about renewable energy as part of an interactive journey of discovery - a total of four game and quiz stations invite them to take a tour.

The energy park, which is mostly made of local wood and located in the immediate vicinity of Hotel Teichwirt, answers questions such as how energy generation works and what types of power plants there are. To illustrate this, a mini hydroelectric power plant was also integrated into the experience tour through the park.

Christian Purrer, spokesman for the board of Energie Steiermark: "We are proud of the successful cooperation with Almenland. The energy park is intended to convey important information about renewable energy in a playful way and thus draw attention to the important topic of sustainability."

Peter Raith, mayor of the municipality of Fladnitz an der Teichalm, is pleased "to have this pioneering family project in our municipality" and expects it to "further enhance the attractiveness of the recreation area."

Erwin Gruber, mayor of the municipality of Gasen and chairman of the Almendland: "Renewable energy is a very important topic for us, which connects us with Energie Steiermark, the processing has been extremely attractively successful and will be a magnet for visitors to our region."

E-Charging points

In the Almenland Nature Park, several e-charging stations were completed by KEM:

  • Stoanihaus, Dorfplatz 9, 8616 Gasen, Details
  • Teichalmlifte (Aibl), Teichalm 143, 8163 Fladnitz an der Teichalm, Details
  • GH Pröllhofer, Cafe Bar Hills, Tulwitzviertl 9, 8163 Fladnitz an der Teichalm, Details
  • GH Frankenhof, Nechnitz 7, 8163 Fladnitz an der Teichalm, Details
  • GH Hofbauer, Breitenauer Straße 37, 8614 Breitenau am Hochlantsch, Details
  • Kathreinerhaus, St. Kathrein am Offenegg 99, 8171 St. Kathrein am Offenegg, Details
  • Municipality Passail, near Bakery Niederl, Details

Climate and Energy Model Region
Manager od the Model Region Mag. Martin Auer

Dorfplatz 1
8616 Gasen
Telefon: 0043 664/8514441
E-Mail: martin.auer (at) almenland. at
Web: www.klimaundenergiemodellregionen.at

X

Klimafreundlicher Naturpark Almenland

95 Klima- und Energie-Modellregionen (KEM) in 819 Gemeinden in Österreich setzen Klimaschutzprojekte um - der Naturpark Almenland ist eine Region davon! 

Die österreichischen Klima- und Energie-Modellregionen haben folgendes Ziel: saubere Energiegewinnung aus Wind, Wasser und Bioenergie aus der Region. Die ModellregionsmanagerInnen und Partner aus den Regionen setzten gemeinsam Projekte in folgenden Bereichen um:

  • Erneuerbare Energie
  • Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs
  • Nachhaltiges Bauen
  • Mobilität
  • Landwirtschaft
  • Bewusstseinsbildung

"Klima-und Energie-Modellregionen" sind ein Programm des Klima- und Energiefonds. Im Rahmen des Programms werden regionale Klimaschutzprojekte und das regionale Modellregionsmanagement ko-finanziert. Klima- und Energie-Modellregion zu sein bietet Zugang zu einem breiten Netzwerk sowie exklusiven Schulungen, Unterstützungen und Förderungen.

KEM - Leitprojekt „Quick BIO-NET“

präsentiert Analyse-Tool für Wärmenetze

Klima- und Energie-Modellregions-ManagerInnen erhalten neues Beratungswerkzeug

Im Leitprojekt „Quick BIO-NET“ wurde ein Quick-Check-Tool zur Erstanalyse von Nahwärmenetzen erstellt. Dieses Tool ermöglicht ein einfaches Benchmarking und die Feststellung des Status Quo von Nah- oder Fernwärmenetzen. Durch die Eingabe von wenigen Parameter des Heizwerkes werden die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten analysiert, wie neue erneuerbare Energietechnologien - z.B. Solarthermie, Photovoltaik, Pufferspeicher, Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung oder auch Abwärme -aus Industrie und Gewerbe eingebunden werden können. Die Ergebnisse des Tools bilden die Grundlage für Entscheidungen zur Weiterentwicklung und Optimierung des Heizwerks. Im Projekt wurden dazu Fallbeispiele aus den beteiligten Klima- und Energie- Modellregionen berechnet und teils auch schon in der Umsetzung dokumentiert.

Die Klima- und Energie-Modellregions-ManagerInnen bekommen mit dem Quick-Check-Tool ein Werkzeug in die Hand, welches erste Antworten zu Fragestellungen wie Wirtschaftlichkeit des Gesamtsystems, Winter- und/oder Sommerbetrieb mit solarer Einbindung, Pufferspeicher, PV, KWK, etc. oder auch den Netzausbau liefert. Dies bildet die Grundlage für eine Grundsatzentscheidung und eine weitere detaillierte Planung!

Das Projektteam - bestehend aus AEE INTEC, dem Innovationszentrum Weiz, der KEM Energiekultur Kulmland, der KEM Holzwelt Murau und der KEM Naturpark Almenland – wurde im Rahmen des Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert.

App testen & 150€ sichern!

Richtig Einheizen mit Biomassekesseln will gelernt sein, denn eine saubere Verbrennung ist essentiell für eine hohe Effizienz und ein Minimieren der Abgase. In den letzten Jahrzehnten wurde bei Biomasse-Heizsystemen viel Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit in die Verbrennungstechnik investiert, doch auch das Verhalten der Nutzer birgt großes Potential.

Das zeigte das Projekt „CleanAir by biomass“ (Clean Air = Reine Luft), das vom Land Steiermark in den Jahren 2016 bis 2019 durchgeführt wurde. Im Folgeprojekt CleanAir II möchte man nun noch einen Schritt weiter gehen und das Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung hinsichtlich sauberer Luft durch die Nutzung von heimischer Biomasse nachhaltig stärken. Das Projekt versucht, dieses Ziel mittels mobiler Infrastruktur, Bewusstseinsbildung, Citizen Science und Einbindung lokaler und regionaler Stakeholder sowie Bildungseinrichtungen zu erreichen.

Im Rahmen des Projektes CleanAir II wurde die Smartphone-Applikation „FireMonitor“ entwickelt. Diese erlaubt es, die Forschung in die Wohnzimmer der Menschen zu bringen. Anhand der FireMonitor-App wird das Einheizverhalten der Nutzer dokumentiert.  Am Ende des Projektes erhalten Teilnehmer aufgrund ihrer Aufzeichnungen ein Feedback, wie sie ihr Einheizverhalten optimieren können, um weniger Emissionen zu erzeugen.

Die App befindet sich noch in der Testphase und ist daher auf besonders viele App-Tester angewiesen. Sie haben einen Stückholz-Heizkessel im Heizraum, einen Kachel- oder Schwedenofen oder einen Tischherd und möchten die App testen? Dann melden Sie sich bei Martin Auer (KEM Manger Naturpark Almenland) und laden Sie sich die App unter den folgenden Links (Android und iOS, achtung nicht im Store verfügbar!) herunter. Die drei intensivsten App-Tester werden mit € 150,00 Gutscheinen belohnt! Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier! Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Martin Auer.

App für Android

App für iOS

Erneuerbare Energiegemeinschaften

Werde ein Teil der Energiewende

Klimawandel, erneuerbare Energien und Energiewende sind zentrale Themen unserer Zeit. In unserem zukünftigen, nachhaltigen Energiesystem spielen auch Sie als Bürgerinnen und Bürger eine entscheidende Rolle:

Jede und jeder kann zukünftig in Form von Energiegemeinschaften einen Teil zur Energiewende beitragen! 

Dazu findet aktuell das internationale Projekt CLUE statt, in dem auch die Energie Steiermark mit dem Naturpark Almenland gemeinsam eine Demoregion darstellt. Wir bitten Sie um einige Minuten Ihrer Zeit, um an einer Umfrage teilzunehmen. Damit unterstützen Sie uns dabei, Energiegemeinschaften besser an die Bedürfnisse der Bürgerinnen und Bürger anzupassen. Weitere Details zum Projekt finden Sie unter www.project-clue.eu
 

Zur Umfrage

E-Auto der KEM-Region

Die „Klimaschulen-Kinder“ der 6 Volksschulen Arzberg bei Passail, Breitenau/H., Fladnitz/T., Gasen, Neudorf b.P. und Passail haben ihre persönliche, umweltfreundliche Zukunft gezeichnet. Viele dieser Zeichnungen finden sich nun auf dem E-Auto der KEM-Region Klimafreundlicher Naturpark Almenland. Damit sollen die Botschaften der Kinder in die Region Naturpark Almenland und weiter hinaus transportiert werden. Vielen Dank an die Kinder für diese tolle Arbeit!

„Grüner“ Familien-Energiepark auf der Teichalm

Energie Steiermark startet Kooperations Projekt mit dem Klimafreundlichen Naturpark Almenland!

Auf 1200 Metern Seehöhe wurde jetzt der neue „grüne“ Energiepark für Familien auf der Teichalm eröffnet. Gemeinsam mit dem Almenland verfolgt die Energie Steiermark das Ziel, Kinder und Familien im Rahmen einer interaktiven Entdeckungsreise mit den wichtigsten Fakten rund um Erneuerbare Energie vertraut zu machen – insgesamt laden vier Spiel- und Quizstationen zu einem Rundgang ein.

Der größtenteils aus heimischen Hölzern gefertigte Energiepark in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Hotel Teichwirt beantwortet unter anderem die Frage, wie Energieerzeugung funktioniert und welche Kraftwerkstypen es gibt. Um das anschaulich zu machen, wurde auch ein Mini-Wasserkraftwerk in den Erlebnis-Rundgang durch den Park integriert.

Christian Purrer, Vorstandssprecher der Energie Steiermark: „Wir sind stolz über die erfolgreiche Kooperation mit dem Almenland. Der Energiepark soll auf spielerische Art und Weise wichtige Informationen rund um das Thema Erneuerbare Energie vermitteln und damit auf das wichtige Thema Nachhaltigkeit aufmerksam machen.“

Peter Raith, Bürgermeister der Gemeinde Fladnitz an der Teichalm freut sich, „dieses wegweisende Familien-Projekt in unserer Gemeinde zu haben“ und erwartet sich davon „eine weitere Attraktivierung des Erholungsgebietes.“

Erwin Gruber, Bürgermeister der Gemeinde Gasen und Obmann des Almendlandes: „Erneuerbare Energie ist für uns ein sehr wichtiges Thema, das uns mit der Energie Steiermark verbindet, die Aufbereitung ist überaus attraktiv gelungen und wird ein Magnet für BesucherInnen unserer Region sein.“

E-Ladestellen

Im Naturpark Almenland wurden einige E-Ladestationen durch die KEM fertiggestellt:

  • Stoanihaus, Gasen 35, 8616 Gasen, Details
  • Teichalmlifte (Aibl), Teichalm 143, 8163 Fladnitz/Teichalm, Details
  • GH Pröllhofer, Cafe Bar Hills, Tulwitzviertl 9, 8163 Fladnitz/T, Details
  • GH Frankenhof, Nechnitz 7, 8163 Fladnitz/T., Details
  • GH Hofbauer, Breitenauer Straße 37, 8614 Breitenau am Hochlantsch, Details
  • Kathreinerhaus, St. Kathrein am Offenegg 99, 8171 St. Kathrein am Offenegg, Details
  • Gemeinde Passail, Nähe Bäckerei Niederl, Details

Klima- und Energie-Modellregion
Modellregionsmanager Mag. Martin Auer

8616 Gasen 3
Telefon: 0043 664/8514441
E-Mail: martin.auer (at) almenland. at
Web: www.klimaundenergiemodellregionen.at

X